Industry Advisory Board

The IEEE Computer Society Industry Advisory Board (IAB) was formed in 2008 originally known as the Advanced Technology Executive Forum (ATEF); comprised of high-profile and committed visionary leaders from both industry and academia.  Eleven founding members of the Advanced Technology Executive Forum (ATEF) came together for their first meeting in May 2008.

In 2008, the creation of the ATEF was a joint effort led by the IEEE Computer Society president Rangachar Kasturi and past president and Editor-in-Chief of Computer Magazine, Carl Chang for the purpose of building key relationships with industry and academia to facilitate cutting edge information and knowledge resource benefits for the Society's membership and users of technology and technology information world-wide.  The IAB's mission is to help the Computer Society critically examine the organization's business plans and practices and to offer advice and assistance to make the Society a relevant professional association for the entire computing profession--engineers, researchers, practitioners, and academia.

Governed by its charter and mission, the Industry Advisory Board continues to work in an advisory capacity, separate from but in collaboration, with the IEEE Computer Society's governance to guide the development of Society products and services.  Current members of the advisory board are:
  • Mr. Rich Belgard, IAB past Co-Chairman (2015 - 2017), Computer Hardware, Independent Consultant
  • Mr. Rufo De Francisco,IAB Chairman (2018 - 2020), Director, Software Quality, Intel Corporation
  • Dr. Zoran Dimitrijevic, Software Engineer, SAP
  • Ms. Sandra Forney, Director of the Engineering Center of Excellence (eCOE), Northrop Grumman’s Mission Systems
  • Dr. Steven J. Hillenius, Executive Vice President, SRC & Executive Director, SRC-Global Research Collaboration, The Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Dr. Stephen D. Huffman, IAB past Chairman (2008 - 2011), Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, MITRE Corporation
  • Mr. Sean Lee Hsien-Hsin, Deputy Director, Design and Technology Platform, Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company
  • Ms. Cheryl McIntyre, Director of Complex Systems, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • Dr. Dejan Milojicic (advisory, special guest)
  • Dr. Santosh Kumar Mohanty, Vice President & Senior Executive, TATA Consultancy Services, Ltd.
  • Dr. Ike Nassi, CEO & Founder, TidalScale
  • Dr. Jim Pinkelman, Director of Microsoft Research Connections
  • Mr. Shmuel Shottan, IAB past Chairman (2013 to 2015), Senior Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, Hitachi Data Systems
  • Dr. Alan Skelley, IAB past Co-Chairman (2015 - 2017 ), Software Engineer, Google, Inc.
  • Dr. Linda Rosenberg Wilbanks, Director, IT Risk Management Group, CISO, FSA, U.S. Department of Education

(Read more about the current members here.)

Ex officio IAB members are the IEEE Computer Society governance leadership: Jean-Luc Gaudiot, 2017 President, Hironori Kasahara, 2017 President-Elect, Roger U. Fujii, 2016 Past President; Angela R. Burgess, Executive Director, IEEE Computer Society.

Past IAB Members

David R. Bernstein, Managing Director, Cloud Strategy Partners (2008-2009)
Avijit Biswas, Private Industry Consultant 
Nick Bowen, Ph.D., Vice President of Software Appliances, IBM Corporation (2008-2012)
Victor Manuel Cortes-Galvin, Private Industry Consultant (2012-2014)
Deborah Dunie, Executive Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, CACI International, Inc. (2010-2014)
Atsuhiro Goto, Ph.D., Professor, Graduate School of Information Security, Institute of Information Security, Japan (2008-2010)
Tony Hey, Corporate Vice President, Microsoft Research, Microsoft (2009-2010)
Harold Javid, Director, External Research North America & Global Programs,  Microsoft Research (April 2011-2012)
Gargi Keeni, Ph.D., Vice President, Tata Consultancy Services (2008-2011)
Tirumale (TK) Ramesh, Ph.D., Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, Amitra University, Bangalore Campus, India (Former Boeing Fellow for Advanced Computing, The Boeing Company, Washington DC) (2009-2011)
Bill N. Schilit, Ph.D., Google Research, Google, Inc. (2008-2009)
Brian Stevens, Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Red Hat (2008-2012)
Neil Siegel, Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, Northrop Grumman Information Systems  
Henry Tirri, Ph.D., Senior Vice President and Head, Nokia Research Center (2009-2012)
Jeffrey J. Wilcox, Vice President of Engineering, Lockheed Martin Corporation (2008-2011)

Computing Now